Site Logo

The RMs are the eyes and ears of the IGA and are responsible for working closely with key stakeholders in the Gaucher community such as patients, patient associations, doctors, industry, and policymakers; exploring and identifying new development opportunities; and identifying and addressing challenges faced by Gaucher patients in the region.


The Regional Managers project was started as a 12-month pilot project in 2018, and it covered four regions across the world: South Asia, Eastern Europe and the Balkans, Central America, and the Caucasus and Central Asia. The RMs' have been working on improving awareness of Gaucher disease in their regions, and have conducted CMEs for healthcare professionals in countries such as Nepal (2019) and a virtual CME on LSDs in South Asia (2021). The RM's report to the Board and CEO. 


In 2021 the RM programme was revised and now in 2022 we have 6 regions and 8 regional managers. The RM Programme is led by the IGA Projects officer, Vesna Aleksovska, who you can contact for more information. 

Meet the team


Adel Kaplan (Russia)

Area of responsibility: European region 1 (Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Georgia, Hungary, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, Uzbekistan)


Anne - Grethe Lauridsen (Denmark) 

Area of responsibility: European region 2 (Cyprus, Iceland, Kosovo, Liechtenstein, Malta, Monaco, Montenegro)


Mugdha Bhagwat (India)

Area of responsibility: South East Asia region (Bangladesh, Bhutan, Indonesia, Myanmar, Maldives, Nepal, N. Korea, Sri Lanka, Timor-Leste)


Patricia Lucki (Guatemala)

Area of responsibility: Central America 1 region (Honduras, El Salvador, Nicaragua, Costa Rica, Panama, Belize, Dominican Republic)


Atif Qureshi (Pakistan)

Area of responsibility: Eastern Mediterranean region (Afghanistan, Bahrain, Iran, Iraq, Kuwait, Lebanon, Oman, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Syria, United Arab Emirates, Yemen)


Trudy Nyakambangwe (Zimbabwe) and Roselyn Odero (Kenya) as Regional Managers

Iman Tagelsir Mohamed (Sudan) as medical advisor

Area of responsibility: African region (Zimbabwe, Rwanda, Tanzania, Namibia, Lesotho, Kenya, Ghana, Ivory Coast)